2/31 Feel Good Films

It’s all overcast and rainy outside, and on days like this it can be easy to feel a bit grey too. There’s a few things that I do whenever I start to feel a bit rubbish, and one of them is to lose myself in a movie.

In this post, I have picked a few of my feel good films that might not be masterpieces but always put a smile on my face. There’s no order to them, and they are by no means the only films I go to, but these are the ones that sprang to mind when I started thinking about it.

First up, there’s a cheesy teen comedy called Saved (2004) that I first stumbled across on Netflix (I’m not sure if it’s still there, but it’s probably around if you look hard enough – I managed to get the DVD in CEX for 50p!). It’s about a girl at a strict Christian school that falls pregnant by her gay boyfriend. She learns a lot about life and her so called friends. It’s a coming of age story, and I never tire of watching it.

Secondly, Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs 2 (2013). As much as I like the first one, I’m picking the second one here simply because I love all the animal-food related puns. If you’ve not heard of the films, it’s about a scientist who makes a machine that turns water into food. I love the characters and all the cute food. It’s a great family film, and right now it’s on Netflix UK.

Finally for this post, I recommend checking out The Adventures of Priscilla, Queen of the Desert (1994). I first watched this for Film Studies and then rewatched it several times to write about it, but I loved it. It’s about three drag queens on a road trip across Australia – what’s not to love? I’ll admit, some of the humour and phrasing is a little dated, but if you can take it with a pinch of salt, I highly recommend checking it out.

And there you have it – three of my feel good films of the moment. I might do some more posts like these, but until then let me know what you’re favourite films to watch are!

Leave a Reply

