June [2017]

Some months I look back and struggle to remember what happened, others I can’t recall everything because there’s so much that happened. June has been the latter. I have a feeling this one might get a bit long, so make sure you’re sitting comfortably.

Let’s start at the beginning with an exhibition opening. I was lucky enough to be asked to be part of the Graduate Show even though I’m only in my second year. It was great to see everyone’s work and to re-exhibit my photo album from Into the Outside. I know the experience will come in handy when I do it again, although I’m trying to think too much about next year just yet!

IMG_7711

 

 

I invited Luca and some of his friends to come to the preview event. It was a chance to celebrate before people go their separate ways. There was also a BBQ that went up in flames….literally. Apparently the gas canister caught fire, but thankfully no one was hurt. It was one of the most eventful opening nights I’ve been to.

DSC_0048

On the 9th of June, I finally handed in all of my work and finished my second year at university. While it was stressful trying to get everything done and put together, I did get to have fun in the process. One of my assignments was to make a photo book and the project that I’d been working on involved me dressing up as a writer, and also trying to get an action shot blowing out some candles. It’s been quite a year, and while it hasn’t always been easy, it’s another chapter completed.

DSC_0031(A)

The same day that I handed everything in, Jess came down to stay for the weekend. It was nice to spend some quality time together and we even got to cross something off our bucket lists that we’ve wanted to do for years. We finally got to have our photos taken in a photo booth! I’m not quite sure why we’ve wanted to do it so badly, but we did it and it was tons of fun.

DSC_0160Jess also faced her fear of rides and we went on some on the pier. We also played games in the arcade, fighting dinosaurs and zombies. I had an amazing time and it reminded me of all the fun we used to have on our lunch breaks at school. So much happens as you grow up, it’s important to try and remember moments like those.

DSC_0174In the week after that, England was blessed with some sunshine. Carys and I didn’t want to let it go to waste, so we jumped in the car and went to the zoo. I haven’t been to Marwell Zoo before, at least not that I remember, but I had fun photographing their penguins and hippos. Afterwards, Carys was nice enough to drive me back to Brighton as I was working at an open day very early the next morning. She honestly does so much for me, I don’t know what I’d do without her.

19403493_10154759593176647_1992646562_o

While I was back in Brighton, I started on a new project at the museum. I don’t want to say too much about it yet, but it was fun getting to be creative again. Let’s just say I’m seeing the collections in a whole different way!

Then it was time to go back home for a few days. My birthday is towards the end of the month, so I went back home to celebrate. Being the thrill seekers that we are, Carys and I headed to Chessington World of Adventures on what turned out to be the hottest day England has seen for decades. I haven’t been for about 10 years so it was interesting to see how it’s changed. I’ll always miss some of the old rides (R.I.P Bubbleworks!), but it’s still got some of my favourites. Since it was still school time, we didn’t really have to queue all day, and we even got to go on a few rides twice. Afterwards, we headed to the cinema to see Guardians of the Galaxy Vol.2 , which is great by the way. It was a day full of laughter, good company and a little too much sugar.

IMG_7853

On my actual birthday, I took it easy having been out in the sun all day the day before. I got to spend some time with my family, and at the age of 23 decided to take a midday nap. I can’t tell if I’m too old or too young or both!

DSC_0285

On the Friday, some friends and I went out for dinner. It was really nice to see everyone, and I finally got to wear the dress I’d bought for the exhibition opening but it had rained. It was crazy to think we’ve been going to the same place to eat for quite a few celebrations now. I’ve had many leaving dinners and birthday celebrations there, and I’m sure I will for years to come.

19578878_10154784979291647_1172977641_o

Then to finish off the month, while I was still at home Carys and I took advantage of our various cinema deals and saw some films. There also happened to be a giant inflatable minion, so of course we stood and took pictures. The last few days have been tough for a number of reasons, but Carys always pulls me through them. I am so glad that even though it’s been over a decade since we met, she’s still looking out for me and continues to be a part of my life.

DSC_0298

June has been a month of finishing things off and reflecting on how far I’ve come. I’ve celebrated and been spoilt by the people I love. It hasn’t all been smooth sailing, but it’s been worth it and overall it’s been a great month.

Fingers crossed July is even better!

Leave a Reply

