The ghost on the beach

Sometimes I look back to you,

The you you were then,

Before everything happened.

 

Do you remember the food we ate?

Or how long we waited for it?

Or that guy who started talking to you?

 

Do you remember going to the pub?

Did you win at pool or did someone else?

Did you see the way your friends looked at me?

 

Do you remember the beach gone midnight?

 

Sometimes I think back to being in your room,

To talking til the sun came up,

Before I gave in and fell asleep.

 

I remember taking in the details of your face.

The freckles. The eyes.

Those lips.

 

I remember turning away.

I’m not a bad person,

But I had bad thoughts.

 

I remember the beach gone midnight.

Leave a Reply

