April [2017]

I blinked and another 30 days went by. I’m sure it’s something that I comment on every month, but time is just flying by and this month is no exception.

The start of the month brought the start of my Easter break, and after a few days of relaxing, I jumped on a train and headed home for a while. I like going home, but each time it feels stranger and I can’t quite put my finger on it. It’s so familiar, the same people and the same places, but it’s not exactly the same. They’re just over an hour away from each other, but my two homes feel worlds apart sometimes.

I wish I could say the month got off to a go start, but unfortunately I had a few calls from the bank that meant it wouldn’t be. At first I thought someone was trying to scam me pretending to be my bank, but as it turns out someone had already tried to steal all my money. Pity there wasn’t enough in there when they tried to spend it though, and it was declined. It’s all sorted now, thankfully, but it was really annoying and a bit scary when it happened.

DSC_0476

While I was home, I got to see Jess again. We went for some amazing waffles and had one of those conversations about everything and nothing all at once. We talked about people we used to know and things that we’d done together, we reflected on how our lives have changed in the 10 years that we’ve been friends and I was reminded that even though things change, somethings stay the same. We’re different people now than we were when we met, but that friendship, it’s still there.

scan0006

I also had some work to do while I was back. I needed photos from my childhood for a project that I’m working on and that meant spending hours hunting through cupboards and boxes to find them. It was frustrating that I couldn’t find what I was looking for straight away, but at the same time I got to look back at not just my past, but that of my family too. There were no order to these photos, most of them kept together in a cupboard behind the ironing board, but that was kind of exciting. It jumped from holidays to weddings to Christmases. I’m hoping that when I look back, this blog will be a little better organised than those photos were.

IMG_7672

Then it was back to Brighton as Luca and I had tickets to go and see Rob Beckett Live. We went and got dinner (Nando’s, of course), and by the time we came back out the sunny weather had disappeared into the fog again. I’m starting to think it’s something to do with Luca to be honest. The show was amazing, and our seats were pretty good too. Afterwards, we walked towards the bus stop as it had gotten warmer again, and had ice creams while we waited for the bus. I hope we get to do more stuff like that, I really enjoyed it.

DSC_0519

Just because it was the Easter break does not mean I had a break from my work. While I was off, I had an essay to write and that meant heading to the library to get some reading done. I didn’t actually finish writing it til after I’d gone back home again, but it’s all done now and was handed in on time, so it’s all fine.

DSC_0595

I went back home again for the Easter bank holiday and it was nice to spend some time with my family. My mum defiantly spoilt me when it came to food. We had an amazing roast dinner, and she’d brought profiteroles for afters – shame about the ‘pour-able’ chocolate though.

DSC_0610

I finally got to see Carys too. She’d been rather poorly the last few days I was home, so we didn’t manage to get together for her birthday like we had done the past few years. She’s all better now though, so we went to Bluewater for a catch up and I got to give her her presents.

Then it was back to Brighton, and after my essay was written, back to university. I’ve got a lot of deadlines coming up in May so I’ve mostly been working on those, but I do get to end the month on a much better note than I started it. After having to cancel on each other a few times, I finally got to have a catch up with Megan. We message each other pretty much everyday, but I still really miss her now that she’s back in America so it was really nice to be able to actually talk to her on the phone again. It’s surprising how much you can miss someone’s accent.

Overall, even though there have been a few rough patches, April has been better than March was. I think I’m finally coming out of the rut that I’ve been stuck in mentally, and although there’s still a long way to go, I’m starting to get optimistic. Next month is going to be tough given all the work that’s left to do, but I’ve come too far to give up now.

I hope I still have that mentality in 31 days!

Leave a Reply

