March [2017]

Another month has gone by and my head still isn’t quite right, but I’m getting there. Most of March has been dedicated to university work or more precisely procrastinating university work and then stressing about all the time I’ve wasted. Between that and oversleeping, there have been good moments and here are the ones I remember.

DSC_0055

Luca and I took a trip to the cinema to see Moonlight which was amazing. I think I’ll need to see it again to appreciate it fully, but it made me want to get back into writing movie reviews – but properly this time. Hopefully soon I’ll have more of a handle of the work/life balance. Stay tuned!

DSC_0105

We’ve actually been blessed with nice weather on and off this month which meant that even though I was still working, I did get to sit outside, and that definitely did not lead to any distractions what so ever.

DSC_0380

The exhibition that I was part of came to close in mid-March, but not before the Mayor of Brighton and Hove came to see it. I was lucky enough to meet him and act as a spokesperson for the project as we walked around. It was an honour to share my experiences and to explain just how much the project has meant to me. He even took a copy of my postcards away with him to display in his pallor!

DSC_0219

Afterwards, Luca and I celebrated by going to Nandos. The food was brilliant as always, but there was a really bad smell that kept wafting our way and it kind of ruined things a bit. We also went to the beach. It was beautifully sunny when we arrived, but as we were sitting there discussing our lives, we watched as a thick fog descended onto the beach. I’d say it was quite a sight, only we stopped being able to see!

DSC_0248

That weekend my parents came down for a brief visit and my mum took us shopping. We brought the ingredients for a Sunday roast for the next day, and it was delicious.

DSC_0362

I took a big step against my anxiety this month: I finally made an appointment and went to see the doctor all by myself. It might not sound like much to some people, but I faced a lot of fears that day. I acted like a grown up, took responsibility for my own health and even had a blood sample taken despite having a fear of both blood and needles. I didn’t look, but I still did it and I lived to tell the tale. I’m proud of myself, and I went to get ice cream to help me recover.

DSC_0397.JPG

On the university side of things, my life has been rather deadline heavy this month but I’ve just about pulled it off. I also got to spend some time in the photography studio with two of my friends – Laura and Asel. We all have class together, and even though we’re all working on individual projects, we took some time to practice with the lights and settings on our cameras.

DSC_0398

Afterwards, Asel and I went to see Beauty and the Beast in the cinema. I love the animated one so I was a little nervous about seeing this one, but I really enjoyed it. There were some good jokes in it, and I’m over the moon to see a gay character in a Disney movie. He’s only a minor character and some people might have missed it, but it’s still a step in the right direction.

So that’s been March. If I had to sum it up in three words, it would be Mayor, Memories and Movies!

Until next time.

Leave a Reply

