January Again.

It’s been a whole year since I started writing these and I love being able to look back at them. In some ways I can’t believe it’s been so long, and yet it feels like no time at all. So much has happened – I guess it’s true that life waits for no one.

So, January 2017.

This is actually my second attempt at writing this. I wasn’t really feeling the first draft and to be honest with you, I haven’t really been feeling January. Nothing that bad has happened – in fact, a lot of good things have – but it’s definitely felt a bit grey, a bit ‘ugh’. Maybe it’s because of the weather or because I was sick at the start. It’s been foggy, both outside and inside of my head.

Here are the bits of January I want to remember.

img_7185

Colin and I spent a whole day at Tate Modern. I can’t remember the last time I did that, and it was great to go with someone who is so passionate and knows so much about the subject. We walked around the exhibitions talking about all kinds of things and it was great to felt listened to. I really enjoyed myself especially in the photo booth that they had to recreate some of the work from the photography exhibition, and I really enjoyed getting to know Colin better. They’re far more interesting than I was at their age!

The week after that I started my placement at Photoworks. It’s a compulsory part of my degree and I’m so grateful that I get to do it with them as they’re behind the Into the Outside project that I’m working on which comes in handy when I have to leave early to go to project meetings. I’m just over half way through now, and my main responsibility has been the blog and social media for the ITO project. I guess that’s why I’ve been neglecting my own blog a bit – I only have so many words! I’ll put the link at the end of this post, I’d love it if you went and checked it out. It’s got so much more about all the things I’ve been doing over the past 10 months!

I also got to be on the radio talking about the project!

image

Other than my placement, I’ve also been going back to London a lot (well, two Saturdays in a row as well as the Tate trip). That’s because Megan is leaving really soon and we wanted to cram as much in as possible. It was also her birthday so we had some celebrating to do.

img_7295

The first trip that we took involved going to the Lego store in Piccadilly – it’s their biggest one and I wanted to see the models. They even have a lego tube you can take photos in! After that I took her to the new building at Tate Modern. I’d been the week before and the view is stunning from their new viewing platform. After that we took a stroll along the South bank. There was a man with some bubbles and a pretty sunset. The we headed to a lovely little pub for dinner. It was wonderful.

img_7436

For the second trip, we started the day on a rail replacement bus, but still made it to London for around half 9. I’d brought tickets for a cruise on the Thames for Christmas so that was our first stop. We actually spent quite a while on the boat with a quick look round the Greenwich Market. I felt a little bit travel sick for the second time that day  on the way back to Westminster but it wasn’t too bad and I had Megan and the view to distract me. Then we headed to the Sherlock Holmes Museum’s shop. It was super cute in there, and I’d love to go back to the museum sometime when it’s less busy. We also went to a really old book shop which was amazing – just a side note for my future partner, please let me have my own library.  We ended the day with Nandos because I still can’t believe they don’t have it in the States. It was Megan’s last trip to London before she goes home and I’m going to miss her so much!

img_7554

Also this month, Luca and I decided that we weren’t going to live in the same house next year so we started looking for a new place. I went to see one place on my own since he’s still not back yet, and got on with the people there so well I was there for two hours! That’s a good sign right? I’m sure there will be more on that next month.

There’s certainly been some highlights this month, but I can’t pretend that it’s all been amazing. Like I said in the beginning, nothing that bad happened, but there have been times that haven’t been so great. I don’t know what it is. Compared with previous years, things have been miles better when it comes to my mental health, but there’s still work to be done. It’s been less of a ‘hit the ground running’ start to the year, and more of a ‘picking myself up and going at a steady pace’.

Until next month!

Check out the other blog I write! – www.intotheoutsidebrighton.tumblr.com 

Leave a Reply

