December

So here we are: the last day of the last month of 2016. To be honest with you, I’m still in shock at how quickly this year has gone. I’ve managed to cram a lot of things in, and while there have certainly been tough times, I’ve been on some incredible adventures and December was no different.

The month started with a trip up to London to see the Christmas decorations and a few other bits. Megan’s got a list of things that she wants to do before she heads back to the States, and one of them was to have food at Speedy’s – if you’re unfamiliar, that’s the cafe from Sherlock. It’s rather small, but the food was delicious. You need a good breakfast if you’re going to be running around town all day.

img_6854

Then we went on a hunt for Christmas. I love all the decorations, it really helps me catch the Christmas spirit. We went to Covent Garden before heading to Hamleys and Regents Street. It was super busy but it was still stunning. Honestly, just look at it…

img_6976

After seeing how festive London was, I thought it was about time that Luca and I embraced the season in our house. It was rather interesting trying to put the fairy lights up and actually get them to stay, but it was worth all the effort to be sat in the glow. A few days later, Luca left for the holidays but I’m glad he got to see it all decked out before he went.

dsc_5794

Before she went home, Megan and I had our own little celebration. We went for Nandos in the Marina before heading back to the house to exchange presents and watch Home Alone. It’s one of my all time favourite movies and I make a point to watch it at least once every year. Good food, great friends and amazing movies make for the perfect day.

img_7084

The last week of term was spent frantically trying to finalise arrangements for my placement. It’s a compulsory part of my degree, and one of main reasons that I chose to do it, but it’s been such a long process to organise. After being let down by a few places, I finally got a conformation call and I’m relieved and excited. You’ll hear more about it in the new year.

Then it was finally time to go home for the holidays. To be honest with you, the middle of the month was tough. With the stress of uni and finding myself alone for a lot of it, I had far too much time to think and fall into rabbit holes. I’m glad to say that this year has been nowhere near as difficult as previous years, but I was so glad to come home and be looked after.

img_7149

One of the best parts about coming home is seeing Carys, and we had to keep up our tradition of visiting the house with all the lights and going for dinner. It was time for a catch up and the chance to take a few more photos together. We swapped presents and it’s fair to say that we know each other quite well by now – I got her a sheep pillow and she got me a Disney book. Perfect!

img_7156

Then, of course, it was actually Christmas. The family and I sat around watching movies and eating for too much food while wearing silly hats. It was great. I finally got to give my mum her present – I’d made her a photo book with pictures from Florida – and seeing the smile on her face made all the hard work worth it. Merry Christmas everyone.

And that brings us to now. Tonight I’m planning on snuggling up in bed and watching tv – I know, I live such a wild life. I’m still a bit poorly and there’s nowhere I’d rather be than my bed.

It’s been quite a year and I’ve come quite a long way. Back when I wrote the first one of these I never would have guessed that I’d attend my first ever Pride or share some rather important news with my family. I’ve been to new places and made news friends. I’m proud of my accomplishments and I can’t wait to see what adventures are still to come.

Bring on 2017!

Leave a Reply

