The Meaning of Christmas

It’s a little past 11pm on Christmas eve, and I’ve been thinking a lot lately about the meaning of Christmas. I wasn’t raised in a religious family, and yet, here we are celebrating anyway. I suppose that’s consumerism for you, but there’s got to be more to it than that, right?

To me, it’s the time of year that I get to spend with my nearest and dearest, appreciating them and being grateful that they’re in my life. I know I should do that all year round, but life gets in the way sometimes making it more difficult.

I do like getting people presents but they don’t have to cost that much money. I prefer to find something that I know someone will love or something thoughtful to remind them of memories we share. It really is the thought that counts.

It’s also a chance to reflect. While it is a happy time of year, I can’t pretend that it isn’t without a twinge of sadness when I think about the people who aren’t here celebrating with us. My grandad used to come over Christmas day and we’d go to his for another celebrating on Boxing Day. It’s been 10 years since he passed away, but still I get a lump in my throat he’s not here to pull a cracker and wear a silly hat. Some empty chairs will never be filled.

Most of all, it’s a time for love in all of its forms. That’s the meaning of Christmas for me. Taking time to make people feel loved and enjoying the time we have together. There’s still something a little magical about that.

Whatever you’re celebrating, I hope you have a good one.

Leave a Reply

