2016 in Review

How is 2016 nearly over? In some ways, it feels like this year has just flown right by, but I’ve crammed so much in and it’s only now that I’m looking back at it that I’m realising quite how much – but I’ll get to that.

Since there really isn’t that much time left this year, I thought it was about time that I reflected on the goals I set myself way back in January. Does anyone remember their resolutions? Luckily for me, I’ve got mine written down somewhere on this blog!

dsc_5038

Firstly, I said that I wanted to get out more, and while I still have pyjama days, I’m getting a lot more involved in things. I’ve tried new things and I still can’t quite believe some of the things that I did. I climbed a mountain (which I’ll get around to writing about soon!), and flew to the States for the first time. As far as adventure’s concerned, I feel like I ticked that one off and I can’t wait to get out there more next year.

IMG_20150928_084723

Secondly, I wanted to focus more on my university work. If I’m honest, this one has been a mixed bag. I’m still doing alright, but it always feels like I could be doing more. My marks are pretty good most of the time, and I’m getting things done, just sometimes struggle with motivation and actually understanding some of the concept, but I’m getting there. It’s a work in progress.

DSC_1345
This is what a semester’s worth of work looks like

Next was to get into more of a routine with my writing, and I did this for most of the year! The majority of the time, I posted a movie review on a Monday, and the past few weeks when I haven’t done that, there has at least been some kind of post. I got a little overwhelmed when I started my second year and blogging suffered a bit because of that, but I’ve got lots of ideas for things to come, so there’s lots to look forward to. As well as that, I’ve really enjoyed writing a monthly update about my life. They’re great for me to look back on and I’ve had some positive feedback on them. I’d call this one a success, but there’s still a way to go. Always room for improvement and all that.

DSC_0580

Finally, I wanted to be more positive. This one’s a little harder to judge. There’s been a fair bit of drama, but I’m better at spotting the signs when things are starting to get bad and especially in the second half of the year, I’ve become a lot better asking for help when I need it. I’m more body positive than I have been in the past, and I’m more confident within myself. Sometimes I forget it for a little while, but I know that I can do the things I set my heart on. I suppose this one is more of a life goal than just for this year. Got to make the most of what you’ve got, and I know I’m very lucky with the things I have in my life.

2016 has been a rollercoaster of a year both personally and in the wider world. There have been some absolutely amazing times, but I still hope that 2017 is bigger and better!

Leave a Reply

