August

This year is just flying by, isn’t it? August has been a good one and not just because the sun came out. I always associate August with the summer holidays and it was packed full of fun things to see and do. Let’s get started!

The first week was very busy indeed.

Carys had some time off of work which meant that we had a few days out. For the first day, we went to Bluewater and played mini golf. As it turns out, I’m not bad – or maybe it’s just that Carys was terrible. She managed to hit her ball into the bushes several times and into the water at least twice. It was hilarious. Afterwards, we went to go and see the new Ghostbusters. It was an amazing way to start the month.

DSC_5012[1]

The next day, we had a film and board game day. Becka also came over and we attempted to play Trival Pursuit. I say attempted because the game involves having a good sense of general knowledge which we all seemed to be lacking. It didn’t help that some of the questions are quite dated, but we gave it a go nevertheless. We didn’t quite make it to the end, but I was in the lead when we finished so I’m taking that to mean that I won.

DSC_5050[1]

A few days later, it was time to head back to Brighton for a few days for Pride. As part of a project that I’m working on, we were interviewing young people and photographing the parade. It was my first time at the event and it was quite an experience. It made me really happy to see everyone being so supportive and I met some wonderful people. I definately want to go again next year, but maybe not to the festival bit since that wasn’t really my scene. Shoutout to Jennifer who let me stay at theirs for the weekend to save me from the trains.

During the month, Carys and I made quite the habit of going for dinner and seeing a movie afterwards. It was great to take advantage of our discounted tickets and to make the most of my time back home. I’d forgotten how much I like going to the cinema – usually I’m put off by the price, but when it’s discounted, it’s totally worth it.

DSC_5043[1]

I’m going back to university soon and to do that I need to be back in Brighton. Before I left home though, I had another leaving dinner with my friends. After quite a bit of organising, we went to Frankie and Bennys and the food was amazing. It’s strange to think that I’ve known these people for more than 10 years and we used to all hang out at school. So much has changed in that time and we’re all off doing our own thing now, but I wouldn’t change them for the world.

The end of the month mainly consisted of packing. I don’t quite know how I manage to have so much stuff! Eventually, we managed to cram all the boxes and crates into the car and it was finally time to head back down South.

This year I’m sharing a house with Luca and on the 30th we finally moved in to our new place. It’s a great house, but it does come with a few problems – mainly the lack of a working fridge. It’s being fixed, but it’s really frustrating that I can’t really have any food right now. Luckily, it was a Tuesday so we could get a good deal on pizzas, so I guess there is a silver lining. I’m so grateful for my parents who have done so much for us over the past few days, I really don’t know how I would cope without them.

I’m looking forward to making loads of brand new memories in the new house, and although it’s going to take a while to unpack and settle in, I feel really good about the year ahead. I’m definately feeling much better this time around. I’m ready world, bring it on.

That’s been August.

Leave a Reply

