Florida [Days 6 & 7]: Land, Sea and Space

On the day after my birthday, we had a day off from the parks and just enjoyed being on holiday. I sat outside in the shade on the most comfortable round seat with plenty of cushions and read – The Art of Being Normal by Lisa Williamson if you’re interested. It was really nice but very hot so I was thankful for the air-con when I went back inside. For dinner, we went to Applebee’s . That particular restaurant had only been open for four days so they were still finding their feet, but the food was so good. I’m drooling just thinking about it.

IMG_4694

The next day, we went to Epcot. It was the last of  Disney theme parks before we started over again, and honestly I didn’t know what to expect. I’d heard about the World Showcase, but that’s pretty much all I knew. We spent a while exploring and decided that we’d focus on the rides and come back another day for more of the walking round.

IMG_4826

The park is split into different sections and we started off in The Land. As the name suggests, this part is focused on the environment. We went on Living with The Land which is a slow boat ride the explores how humans interact with the world around them and how Disney are trying to become more ecologically friendly. They grow all kinds of plants and food that is used in their restaurants. It was educational and interesting to find out what Disney World as a company are trying to do.

IMG_4737

Next we headed to the Disney and Pixar Short Film Festival. It’s in a theatre that shows three shorts that have been modified for 4D. I’m a huge fan of Pixar and I fell in love with the short ‘La Luna’. It was beautiful and seeing it on the big screen made it all the more special. If you can find it, it’s definitely worth a watch. As we were leaving, we noticed that the ride next to it had a very short wait time so we hopped on Journey into Imagination with Figment. Honestly, I don’t know how to describe it other than surreal.

IMG_4751

After journeying under the sea with Nemo and his friends, we got to find out what is in the iconic golf ball looking thing – currently it’s a ride called Spaceship Earth. You travel through history exploring the development of man and end with questions of the possible futures. The ride was average, but going up into the big ball was pretty cool. There’s a bit in the dark with simulated stars which was particularly beautiful.

IMG_4814

Sticking with space, we headed to Mission Space. There are two different levels – Green and Orange. My brother and I opted for Orange which is more intense. This was a mistake, a horrible mistake. Mission Space is an astronaut training simulator, and when they say its more intense, they are not kidding. There were warning for spinning and small spaces as well as a few chances to change your mind before getting on the ride – but a lot of rides have that, right? No big deal – or so I thought right up until the ride started and I thought I was going die. I’m still too traumatised to talk about it, but let’s just say there’s a reason it comes with sick bags (thankfully, I didn’t need one). Next time, I’ll admire space from Earth, thanks.

IMG_4819.JPG

After I’d recovered and could walk in a straight line without almost falling, we finished the day on Ellen’s Energy Adventure. It’s a rather long, sit down ride (it takes about 45 minutes) but I was sitting down, in the cold and not spinning so it’s all good. It’s narrated by Ellen DeGeneres but it is quite dated. I won’t spoil anything for you,  but that hair cut is definitely from the 90s.

Overall I learnt a lot at Epcot – how to be eco-friendly, a little bit of science, and a lot about my own limitations. I try and stick to the saying that you should try anything once, and I’m glad to say that I won’t be trying to get into space again any time soon.

Leave a Reply

