The Magic of Reading

IMG_5137

Today, in the very early hours of the morning, I embarked on an adventure.

I started on the first Harry Potter book.

I know, I know, I’m ridiculously late to the party here but let me explain. Although I love reading, it isn’t the easiest thing in the world for me and when I’ve tried to read the books before, I’ve just got too frustrated and given up. I’m dyslexic and working out everyday words can be tricky, let alone made up spells.

This time is different. Instead of trying to read the books, I’m listening to the audio books. I used to love listening to books on tape as a kid, so this is just the next step up from that. It’s read by the wonderful Stephen Fry and honestly, he’s just got one of those voices I could listen to forever. It’s perfect.

I’ve seen all the films so I know some of what happens, but I’m excited to see the difference and find out all the bits that were missed out on. Some of my friends are crazy about Harry Potter and I can’t wait to be put under the same spell.

I’m writing this blog so that I can document my life, and although I haven’t been quite as obsessed as some of my friends, Harry Potter is still a part of that and I want to record how I feel about it all.

This is going to be quite an adventure.

Leave a Reply

