Movie Monday: Ghostbusters (2016)

ghostbusters-full-new-img

Let me start this review by saying that I am a huge fan of the original Ghostbusters film. My parents showed it to me as a kid and I grew up watching it on most of our holidays.

So when I heard they were making a re-make I wasn’t so sure.

That was until I heard about the casting. An all female line up? It’s about time. I was sold on the idea mainly because Melissa McCarthy was in it, and that was enough to get me excited.

Last week, I finally got to see the film after what felt like an eternity. I’d avoided watching too many trailers or reading anything about it as I wanted to see for myself what it was it. Armed with a blue raspberry slushy and some popcorn, I eagerly awaited the opening credits.

I loved it!

The humour kept in line with the original, the graphics had the benefit of over 30 years of advancements in technology, and the acting was fantastic. The plot was similar, but wasn’t a frame by frame remake and it felt like a new movie. There were plenty of references to the original and I felt that it was made with respect to the classic.

It was great to see four amazing women show younger children that they can be smart, funny and kick-ass regardless of what people say. I wish it had been around when I was growing up, but I still found it inspiring seeing it as “an adult”.

My only problem with the film was the music. Don’t get me wrong, I love Fall Out Boy, but they shouldn’t have tried to redo the song too – or at least not for such an important part of the film.

Overall though, I’m completely blown away by this movie. It exceeded all of my expectations and I can’t wait to watch it over and over again. Can’t recommend it highly enough.

5/5

Leave a Reply

