Movie Monday: Straight Outta Compton

Straight Outta Compton is a biopic of music group NWA who came to fame in the mid-1980s. It follows their highs and lows of their lives and the resistance they faced to their brutally honest lyrics.

I’m struggling to put my thoughts about this movie into words. It’s a history that I knew very little about since the majority of it happened before I was born – I knew that Ice Cube had a background in music, but I’ve known him more as an actor.

It’s also about the injustices young black men faced at the time and continue to face to this day. That’s one of the main parts of the film that stuck with me. Obviously as a young white woman living in a somewhat nice area of England, these aren’t struggles that I can relate to on any level or even imagine truthfully. Films like this one help to communicate this to audiences like me. It’s sad to see that not much has changed in the years since the film is set.

It’s an eye-opening movie with some very talented actors and of course a great soundtrack. I highly recommend it to everyone over 15 to learn about a history and a side of the story that isn’t often shown by the media.

5/5

Leave a Reply

