Florida (Day 1): Flying Out

It’s important to note that I’m not a morning person, so if I’m willing wake up at 6:15AM, it’s got to be for something special.

On the 18th June 2016, I crawled out of bed, got dressed and headed for the airport. The four of us – my parents, my older brother and me – were off to Florida for three weeks for the holiday of a lifetime at the theme parks. None of us had been to the USA before and it’s quite a long flight for someone who’s used to the 2 and a bit hours to Spain. But passport in hand, we stepped aboard the plane and took our seats upstairs (yep, that’s right: a double-decker plane. Who knew such a thing existed?) and took off into the early morning sky.

IMG_4437

During the flight, I had my own TV screen and plenty to choose from, so the 8 hours it was going to take didn’t feel quite as long. I finally got to watch Zootropolois and The Intern – two films that I’d wanted to see in the cinema but managed to miss because surprisingly university takes up a bit of time. Afterwards, I tried to watch Deadpool but ended up having a snooze after the first 10 minutes (nothing to do with the quality of the film, but as I said, I’d gotten out of bed at 6:15 that morning and the air conditioning was making me a little bit sniffley).

IMG_4446

Since it was going to be quite a long flight, there was plenty of food and drink to keep us going. For the main meal, I opted to have the chicken teriyaki which was delicious. A bit later on, we received snack boxes with some crisps in and just when I was thinking things couldn’t get any better, the crew brought round some mini fabs. Living the life of luxury or what?

IMG_4474

Eventually, we touched down in Florida. We got the keys to the hire car and set out to explore the so-called Sunshine State. It was anything but sunny at that particular time – in fact there was a torrential down pour just as we were getting ready to leave the airport.

IMG_4488

The place that we were staying was only about half an hour away so we were there in time for tea. We decided to eat at the restaurant on the resort because it had been quite the day by this point and we didn’t want to chance getting lost. Although it was expensive, the food was really good and I had some of the best roasted sweet potato of my life. After that there was time for a quick bath to try and get rid of my sniffles before climbing into my wonderfully comfortable bed to catch some Zs before the real American adventure started the next day.

Leave a Reply

