Birthday Resolutions

I spent most of yesterday walking round Disney’s Hollywood Studios with a badge telling everyone it was my birthday. This resulted in several well wishers and even a cast member singing to me in a Mickey Mouse voice. Pretty good way to turn 22 if you ask me.

It did mean that I didn’t have much time to think about my birthday resolutions though. If you’re new here, let me explain: since my birthday is in the middle of year, I use it as an excuse to come up with more resolutions to try to stick to rather than just at New Year.

This year two of my resolutions are reiterations of my new years and of last year’s birthday ones. Part of me feels as if this is cheating, but the rest of me knows that it is because they are the most important things to focus on.

The first one is to actively look after my health. It’s true that I’m in a better place than I was last year, but that doesn’t mean that I should stop. I want to get back into swimming again and to spend more time looking after my body. After all, I’ve only got the one and she deserves it.

Secondly, I need to knuckle down when it comes to uni. I’ve done well this year and I’m getting good grades, but I really want to get the most for my money and do the very best I can at my degree. This involves doing more than just the required workload and making the most of my resources. I also need to stop comparing my results to others, it isn’t helping anyone.

And finally, I want to work on expressing my feelings. Now, I know what you’re thinking – “but Charlie, you already do that on your blog” – and it’s true, but I want to get better at communicating my feelings in the real world, the offline world. I have a tendency to keep what I’m thinking to myself and hope that other people just know what I mean instead of actually telling them. It’s time to change that. It’s time to be honest.

And there you have it. My goals for the next year. I’ve written them down and posted them publicly so there’s no going back now.

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

