Birthday Reflections

In the UK right now it’s 1:03AM on 22nd June 2016: my 22nd birthday.

However, in Florida, where I’m finally visiting Disney World, it is 8:03PM 21st June 2016: not my birthday.

I still want to write this post now though since that the timezone this blog is in and I’ll be the day (today/tommorrow depending where you are) at Hollywood Studios, so yknow busy, busy, busy!

IMG_4467
Let’s fly away

Now that that is out of the way, I usually come up with some resolutions for the year ahead in my birthday post, but I want to start this one by looking back at the ones I made at 21. Since my birthday feels split over two days, I’m going to split this post up too (it’s my blog and my birthday, don’t judge me). This way, I’ll have more time to think through my resolutions without a hint of sunstroke and you won’t have to put up with me rambling on for ages. Look out for part two, coming soon!

Firstly, I wanted to look after myself better and overall I’m happy to say that I am doing that. Sure, there have been bad days, but I’m still in a far better place than I have been and I’m hoping to keep going with that. I’m sleeping more regularly and drinking more. I feel better about myself and my life; it’s not perfect, but I’m getting there.

Secondly, I wanted to stay in contact with people.This one had been with mixed results. I’ve come to realise that some people are in the past for a reason, and that’s not always a bad thing. Sometimes friendships run their course, and its better to keep the memories than try to recreate what you had. Other times though, its about learning to adapt to the changes and working out what that means for the friendship. I’m still working on that bit, but good friends are patient.

Lastly, I wanted to try new things. I definitely did this one. Since my birthday last year, I started and finished my first year at university. I joined groups and met people. This year has been quite the ride, and my blog has captured a lot of it. I’ve changed as a person and I might even have matured a little.

I can’t wait to see what I’m writing about on my next birthday!

 

Leave a Reply

