300 Movie Challenge Review

Last year I set myself the challenge of watching 300 movies before December 31st. Since we’re a month into the next year, I thought it was about time I did a final review of the challenge and talked about some of my favourites.

Final number of films watched: 206 (read the full list here)

So I didn’t quite make 300, but 206 is still pretty impressive especially as this doesn’t include repeated viewing. When people asked why I’d picked such a high number, I’d say it was a nice rounded number and it gave me something to aim for. I hadn’t quite anticipated how long it would actually take to watch that many movies!

The question everyone wanted to ask me was “what was the bets film”, and I’ll get to that, but first let’s talk about some disappointments.

When I think back to films that I had high hopes for and then was less than impressed with, two films come to mind. Bad Neighbours (2014) and The Other Woman (2014) are both comedies that had been hyped up to be amazing, but didn’t hit the mark. That’s not to say I didn’t enjoy them, I had just expected more. It felt like the best bits were in the trailers and there weren’t really any surprises left. I’d probably watch them again on tv, but I wouldn’t waste my money buying them.

On a brighter note, there are also some films that I was pleasantly surprised by. To start with, my pick for best soundtrack has to go to Chef (2014).

Filled with Latin vibes, the soundtrack fits beautifully with an amazing film. It’s fun with a variety of artists and helps you get lost in the story playing out in front of you. I had it on repeat for several days after watching the film. I’d highly recommend checking them both out.

 

Another film that I was impressed with was The Book of Life (2014). It incorporates different animation styles and overall its a visually stunning experience. Its really creative and everything is well designed. The story is great too, but it’s made better by how beautiful it looks. Highly captivating and highly recommended.

When it comes to the most emotional films, its a draw between Finding Neverland (2004) and The Book Thief (2013). Both movies had me bawling like a baby, and hit me so hard in the feels that I’ve barely recovered. Sophie Nélisse who plays the main character in The Book Thief is absolutely incredible and it’s hard to believe she’s so young. That girl is going places!

 

 

I watched a lot of amazing movies and before I reveal my favourite, there’s some honourable mentions to be made. Three films that I’d highly recommend are Kingsman: The Secret Service (2014), Dallas Buyers Club (2013) and Hector and the Search for Happiness (2014). They’re all incredible, but there can only be one winner.

Without futher ado, my favourite film I watched in 2015 has to be Spy (2015).

Melissa McCarthy is hilarious and I couldn’t get enough of Jason Statham’s stories. There wasn’t a scene that didn’t have me laughing at least a little bit, and I love the way it ended with regards to the love story (no spoilers!).

Well there you have it; my 2015 movie challenge is over now, but I’m still keeping a list of the things I watch this year. There’s no number to aim for this time, I just want to know what I’m watching, and I’ve decided to include series too – providing I watch the whole series all the way through and there’s a lot to look forward to (Orange is the New Black, anyone?). You can keep up to date with my list here and I’d love to hear what you’ve been watching recently.

 

Leave a Reply

