January

Way back when I started this blog, it was to document my life and to improve my writing skills. I wanted to be able to look back at everything that was happening and see how far I’d come. It’s my diary – only its publicly available on the internet forever. With that in mind, this year I’m going to be writing a monthly highlights post noting all the things I’ve done and anything interesting that’s happened. This is January.

Let’s start at the beginning; January 1st. I spent the new year in my halls in Brighton. I’d moved back a few days before to get settled back in after Christmas and since my NYE plans consist of being on the internet while listening to other peoples’ fireworks, I can pretty much do that anywhere. It was the first time I’d spent it away from home and I was filled with optimism for the year ahead.

One thing I want to focus on for the year is loving myself more. Its a little hard to explain what that means, but one way of doing it is having dates with myself. Its putting time aside to have some quality alone time and do something enriching. For the first time, I went to the movies by myself. Some people seem to think that’s sad, but I don’t understand why – I wanted to see the film, so I did. It was The Danish Girl and it was fantastic.

DSC_0265
Snappy Happy

Not long after the New Year, I started back at university – briefly. My terms and my semesters don’t line up, so I was back for one full week, then in for two days, and finally in for one day before having another break. It also meant that I had deadlines (one of which I’m still working on), but I’m not too stressed about it. I put my time and effort into the assignments and hopefully it’s all going to pay off when I get my grades back.

I finally got to meet one of the newest editions in my life. Last year one of my closest friends had a little girl, and she’s the happiest baby I’ve ever met. I hopped on a train to Crawley to get my cuddles and to catch up with her mummy. Being around her and thinking about all of the possibilities for her really helped me to put things into perspective. At the end of the day, the most important thing to remember is that you’re loved no matter what.

Also in January, I found myself going back and forth between halls and home. My mental health was slipping for various reasons and I needed those home comforts to start getting things back on track. I’m happy to report that right now, although there’s still improvements to be made, I’m coming out of the fog and I feel better. The past few Januarys have been harder to deal with that this one.

artsy
Arty at the Tate Modern

While I was back home, I took myself on another date. This time to London to see some exhibitions (there will be separate posts about these, so look forward to that). I learnt all about murderers at the Crime Museum, and expanded my knowledge of pop art at the Tate Modern.  Since I have a Tate membership, I even got to go in the exclusive members lounge. It was a little daunting at first to go by myself, but I really enjoyed it.

To end the month, I spent some time with some old friends. I finally got to catch up with one of my close friends from from school – somehow it had been three whole years! Once we were back together, it felt like we’d never been away and although we’d both moved on and grown up, we were able to pick right up where things left off. True friendship never ends.

IMG_3726

Friendship seems to be a strong theme this month – whether its movie nights with new friends or dinner with people who know me better than I know myself. I’m so grateful for all the love in my life, and its that love that pulls me up when I’m down. Things were a little rocky at points, but overall its been a good start to the year and I can’t wait to see what else is to come.

Leave a Reply

