Censorship Ramble

Let me start by saying this is the third post I’ve written tonight without moving from my seat. I’m on a roll, but I don’t know where this is going. What I do know is that there’s some kind of party going on in my flat, and instead I’m in my room because when inspiration strikes, you’ve just got to go with it.

Today in my lecture (because I’m a student who goes to lectures now) we were talking about self-censorship, and it got me thinking about my blog. When I think about it, there are things that I won’t write about on here and there’s all kinds of reasons for that:

First of all, some things too personal even for a blog. As much as I love writing about my life, sometimes its good to take a step back and remember that people can actually see this, and that the internet is forever. There’s a lot of things that happen that you’ll never know about, because frankly you don’t need to know. Some things are better off as secrets.

Secondly, there’s some subjects that are a little too tricky. There are some topics that I don’t feel comfortable writing about because I don’t know enough about them, and I don’t want to come off as ignorant. Sometimes its not my place to share my opinion. Some discussions are too big for this little blog of mine.

Next, there’s an audience to think about. This one might sound a little weak considering the eclectic-ness of this blog, but there’s some subjects that I don’t write about because they feel out of place here. I feel as though you’ve come to expect a certain type of content from me, and while it’s hard to describe what that is sometime, its easier to tell what its not.

And finally, there’s just some subjects I can’t find the words for. This one isn’t really about restricting myself, but having my thoughts already be restricted. There are posts I’d love to write, but I spend too long staring at a blank page while the words escape me. The idea is there, but there’s nothing to expand on, so it don’t flourish into anything but a draft.

This is a bit more of a ramble than a post full of wisdom, but it can be good just to get the ideas down and write whatever words come to mind. I was hoping to come to some kind of conclusion at this point, but I’ve got nothing left.

What do you think?

Leave a Reply

