Movie Monday: Paper Towns

paper-towns-poster-600x2501

Paper Towns is one of my favourite books, so you can imagine my excitement when I heard they were making it into a movie. That said, I somehow managed to get so caught up with  working and everything last year that I missed it in the cinema. Bummer.

I wasn’t too worried about spoilers though since I knew it was going to be faithful to the book, so I just waited for the DVD and eventually I got to watch it.

Let’s backup a little bit before we get to my reaction.

Paper Towns is a  coming of age story of Quentin (played by the amazing Nat Wolff) and his friends as they go on the journey of a lifetime to find his neighbour and life-long crush, Margo (Cara Delevingne), who has mysteriously disappeared. It’s a story about friendship, love, and most importantly seeing people for who they are.

At first I was a little unsure about Delevingne playing Margo as that’s not how I’d imagined her at all when reading the book, but I’m happy to report that she blew any doubt away within the first five minutes of her being onscreen. She’s a fabulous actor and I can’t wait to see where her career leads her.

As for the movie, they had to leave some bits out to make it fit into the running time, and some scenes were left out for legal reasons (damn you SeaWorld), but overall it’s a really enjoyable, funny and moving film. To me it’s not as amazing as the book, but then that would have taken quite a lot of doing. The acting is on-point and some of the lines are hilarious.

Definitely worth a watch if you enjoyed The Fault in our Stars or Perks of being a Wallflower.

3/5

Leave a Reply

