World Introvert Day

Today is world introvert day.

World_Introvert_Day

An introvert is someone who prefers spending time alone rather than with groups of people. They are quiet and inward thinking, but they are not necessarily shy. It can be hard to imagine if you don’t have experience of it.

For me, spending time with big groups of people is exhausting. No matter what it is that we’re doing, I’m conscious of the space I’m in, all the conversations around me and all I want to do is get out of there.

This isn’t to say I don’t like spending time with people – just on more of a one to one basis.

It’s taken me a while to accept that this is part of who I am, especially at university when there’s so much pressure to be a people person. I’ve come to be able to do it for a while, but then I need my time alone to recharge and recover. I’m more than okay with my own company.

Happy World Introvert Day.

Leave a Reply

