Hello 2016!

Boom. 2016. It still sounds futuristic.

It’s that time again when people decide that they want to give up chocolate or hit the gym. It fascinates me how much a new year is hyped up to be the time to change yourself, and how quickly people give up on the idea.

That being said, I’m about to jump on the bandwagon and write all about my new years resolutions; although they’re more like goals. They are something to focus on, rather than promising to give something up. The new year came around rather quickly and so these are not set in stone yet, but the foundations are there and that’s why I want to document them.

First up, I want to get out more. This feels slightly controversial from someone who is sat at her laptop in the comfort of her room, but there’s a whole world out there waiting to be explored. I’ve recently moved and there’s still so much I don’t know about where I live because I’ve been living firmly in my comfort zone since I got here. It’s time to get up and get outside.

Secondly, it’s nearly a new semester and I want to be on top of things this time. I’m really bad at dealing with stress, and so the less of it around the better. I want to focus on getting my reading done and starting my work at least the week before its due. I’m here to get an education and I need to buckle down to do that.

Next, I want to get into a routine with my writing. Things have been a little slack here on my blog, and I want to change that. There’s so many ideas floating around my head, its about time I did something with them. And I want to get more involved with the blogging community too – I know it’s out there.

And finally, I want to be more positive. I’ve spent the past year working on my self esteem with mixed results, and this time I’m taking things a bit further. Of course, I can’t be happy all the time – no one can – but I can put good vibes out there and this world really needs more of that.

So there you have it; a rough draft of my 2016 goals. I’ll be thinking about it more over the next few days, so you can bet that there will be a follow up to this post in near future, but for now it’s good enough to just have the ideas down on paper.

Let’s see what this year brings!

Leave a Reply

