Reflecting on Resolutions

Right now, there are only 30 days left of 2015. How has it gone so quickly?

With that in mind, I thought it would be a good time to look back to my resolutions and see if I’ve stuck to any of them. Since my birthday is in the middle of the year, I make two lot of goals each year, in hopes of achieving at least some of them.

Let’s start with New Year:

Be healthier: sort of.

I haven’t dropped a dress size, but that wasn’t what it was about for me. I wanted to make small changes to my life to improve things over all and compared with the start of the year, I’m in a better place. I’m getting into a sleeping pattern and most of the time I’m in bed by midnight. I’m eating better (thanks to catering). The exercise thing could use a little work, but there’s always next year!

Learn how to cook: hahahaha no.

The thought was there, it really was. I even brought the cook books and found recipes to try, I just didn’t get around to attempting to make them. Luckily for me, I moved from home into catered halls meaning that I get dinner cooked for me 5 nights a week.

Focus on writing and video-making: Writing: yes. Videos: No.

I feel like I’ve found my voice when it comes to writing here on this little blog. I’m getting better at finding things to talk about, and hopefully its interesting for you to read. As for video making though, the idea was buried back in January.

candles

I’ve made it a bit of a tradition now to make resolutions on my birthday since its another chance for a new start. Nearly six months later, it’s time to reflect on those too.

Look after myself: Yes.

This one sounds pretty straight forward, right? The problem is that I have a bad habit of forgetting to take time to recharge my batteries and my health suffers for it. In the past few months, although there have been bad days, overall I’ve been remember to stay hydrated, get enough sleep and just generally have some me time. Face mask and a movie under a blanket? Don’t mind if I do.

Keep in contact with people: Sort of.

I’ve been doing a lot of evaluating when it comes to who’s in my life and who I’m leaving in the past, and while there are people I still consider friends that I haven’t spoken to in a while, I’m getting there. I’ve also started making new friends. I like spending time by myself, but it’s important to get out there sometimes.

and finally

Try new things: Yes and No.

I mean I moved to university, that’s new, and there’s all kind of experiences that come with that but I’ve stayed in my comfort zone the majority of the time. That’s not a bad thing, and there were reasons for doing so, but I think I’m ready to be more adventurous next year.

Get ready world, I’m coming for ya!

 

Leave a Reply

