First Night Feelings [Written September 26th 2015]

Tonight is my first night at Brighton University – although by the time you’re reading this, it won’t be since there’s no wifi at the time of writing, so this will go up at a later point.

It hasn’t quite sunk in yet that this is it; the room I’m in will be my new home for a year, the people around me fellow students. It feels as though I’ve been dropped off at one of the strangest hotels with the long corridor and complicated locking system. I’ll get used to it, in time, but right now I just feel out of place.

There’s a welcome party at a nightclub in town, but that’s not exactly my scene, so instead I’ve spent the night unpacking and watching a film. I feel anti-social, but then I’m not sure the best way to make friends is by showing myself up having a panic attack on the first night of meeting them because the music’s too loud, the people too close, the situation too out of my control.

That’s not to say I won’t make an effort to meet people.

Although tonight is not the best example, I do want to make the most of my time here socially as well as academically – these are meant to be some of the best years of my life, and I want my experiences to be something to write home about (well, blog about). There’s all kinds of projects and societies to get involved in.

But tonight, I want to get settled in first.

These are some of the best years of my life, so I have to do it my way.

Leave a Reply

