An open letter to my new flatmates

 

DSC_0233

To the eight other people I share a flat with,

First of all, I hope this doesn’t weird you out too much – blogging helps me process things, and since there’s a few things I want you to know, writing really is the only way to do it.

That’s one of the things I do when I’m shut away in my room. You might think its anti-social – and admittedly, sometimes it can be – but I’m okay in my own company. That’s not to say that I don’t like spending time with you, I just need space to do my own thing.

When you’re out doing whatever it is you do, I’m inside taking things at my own pace. I really like watching films and watching TV. It takes me awhile, but I love reading, and be to be perfectly honest with you I spend a bit too much time on the internet. I am introvert with anxiety, and my time alone is time for me to recharge, recuperate and relax.

That’s not to say that I won’t come out with you occasionally. Cinema trips, going for dinner, shopping…count me in. I might even surprise you and have a drink at the pub. The more settled in I get, and the better I get to know you, the more I’ll come out with you; but as you may have noticed clubbing isn’t my cup of tea, so I’ll be giving that one a miss.

These past few weeks have been a big adjustment for all of us, and while we’re all handling it differently, we are all in the same boat here. The last thing I want you to know is that I’m here for you if you want to talk. If experience has taught me anything, it’s that some sugar and a chat usually make things a little bit better. I’m not going to pry if that’s not your thing, but if it is, my door is always (metaphorically) open.

From room 8, flat 6.

Leave a Reply

