A few words on my last day

Today was my last day at work – coincidentally its also exactly a year since I started working there – and I wanted to take a moment to reflect on that.

Getting a job in retail was a huge step for me. A few years ago I couldn’t raise my hand in a class of people I knew, so being able to interact with customers shows how far I’ve come. Its another step into adulthood – yes, some people may have taken that step much earlier, but I did it when it was right for me. I’ve learnt a lot in a year; from practical things like how to use a till, to more interpersonal skills.

The job itself was really enjoyable, mostly because of my co-workers and the regular customers. They’ve shown me that as long as the work gets done, you don’t have to be serious all the time, and that being honest and communicating really is key.

I’m so grateful to have the oppourtunity that I did, and its certainly not something I’m going to forget.

Leave a Reply

