“Things change. And friends leave. Life doesn’t stop for anybody.” ― Stephen Chbosky, The Perks of Being a Wallflower

In a months time, I will move out of the only bedroom I’ve ever had in the only house I’ve ever lived and into my very expensive room in halls. I can count down how many nights I have left in my own bed, surrounded by the comfort of the same four walls. There’s only so many more mornings I’m going to wake up and take the same steps I’ve taken thousands of times before.

And I have a lot of feelings that I can’t quite process.

Of course I’m excited to be going off and starting a new chapter in my life. There’s so much to learn and growing up to be done, adventures to be had and memories to be made. I can’t wait for a new challenge, a new environment, a new chance.

Yet, there’s also a part of me that just wants to stay in this bed forever. To hide under the covers and forget about the world outside with all the responsibilities and desicions. To cling onto the way things are and pray things never change.

But they do change. And they will change, regardless of whether I’m off at university or at home in bed. Life is constantly changing, I’ve just got to work out how to make the most of it.

Leave a Reply

