If you could be fluent in another language, what would it be?

Let me start by saying that while I love writing, languages are not my strong point. I’m dyslexic, meaning that my brain works differently, so letters, words and thoughts get all tangled up. It’s not as bad as it could be, but it makes everything harder and it definately takes a toll on my self esteem.

I wasn’t dignosed until I was 19, and I can’t help but imagine how different my life could have been if I’d known as a kid.

There were times I would be in tears because I didn’t understand why I couldn’t get things to make sense. It wasn’t like I wasn’t trying, it just didn’t work. I did alright in school, but boy did I struggle. I’d fall behind, and teachers would assume it was out of laziness; the truth is I was too embarressed to admit that I couldn’t read the assignments.

This prompt really got me thinking. There are people out there who are fluent in several languages, and I can just about master one. It can be hard to explain to people who don’t have expereince of it, and its frustrating because some people assume that because I don’t know how to spell something, I don’t know anything.

When I’m dealing with those people, or having a really tough day, the language I’d want to be fully fluent in the most is English, not just a jumbled up attempt.

But being wired different, also makes me more creative, so I wouldn’t want be to change that forever, just when I’m trying to give an answer (anser, asnwer, anwser … take your pick).

One thought on “If you could be fluent in another language, what would it be?

Leave a Reply

