August Update

August has been rather a busy month.

First of all, it feels like everywhere I look there’s a new baby. My cousin had a healthy, handsome boy called Henry. One of my closest friends is having a gorgeous little girl any day now. And this is without mentioning my facebook feed. The next generation is taking over, and it fascinates me since I can barely look after myself let alone another tiny human. On the bright side, it does mean lots of cuddles and aww-ing at pictures. Snuggles are great when you can give the baby back if they cry.

In more work related matters, I’ve got just over a month left. In fact my last shift will be exactly a year from my first one; I can’t believe how quickly its gone! I can talk to people now, and sometimes I even know what I’m on about. My people skills have improved, and I’ve realised that I can actually cope under pressure if I don’t think about it too much.  It’s been a great experience, and I’m definitely going to miss the people I’ve met there. They’re the ones who’ve made working there enjoyable.

I’m leaving because I’m moving away to university. I’ve nearly gone a few times, but this time its for real. My feeble excuse for a student loan is applied for, I’ve got my accommodation although I’m still working out how to pay for it, I’ve started to stock up on all the things I’m going to be needing. It’s actually happening this time. In just over a month I’ll be starting a new chapter of my life, and while I’m rather anxious about it, I’m ready to jump in and just go for it. What’s the worst that can happen, right?

“Around here, however, we don’t look backwards for very long. We keep moving forward, opening up new doors and doing new things, because we’re curious… and curiosity keeps leading us down new paths.” – Walt Disney

Leave a Reply

