Series Sunday: Orange is the New Black

At the start of the year I set myself the challenge of watching 300 films in a year, and I wanted to review some of them here on my blog and thus Movie Monday was born. I’m still doing the challange (although I’m a little behind, but still I’m over half way!), but the reviews have been missing lately.

This is mainly because I’ve been lazy. I won’t try and come up with an excuse, I just haven’t been bothered to actually write anything. I feel your looks of shame.

But also, I haven’t been writing film reviews, because I haven’t been watching as many films. For the past month or so, I’ve been favouring sitting down and putting on a tv series over a movie, and I thought I’d give you a little run down of what I’ve been watching in a series of posts I’m calling Series Sunday (with no spoilers, of course).

First of all is the big one that most people have been waiting for: Orange is the New Black Season 3 (A while ago I did write about the show more generally, which you can read here)

After such a great season finale for Season 2, I had been counting down the days until I could get my next prison fix, but it worked out to be released while I was in Paris. Already a little behind everyone else, I decided not to binge watch the whole season in 2 days, and to limit myself; I managed to make it last a week. It was just so good.

I love all the characters and seeing what’s happening in their lives, but if I’m really honest, I felt like it wasn’t as dramatic as the previous series. I’m keeping this very general in case you haven’t seen it but I felt as though there had been so much suspense and build up, but no big confrontation that I’d been almost a year to see.

I still love the background stories that give an insight into who the characters were before their time in prison, and I’m still not sure on a favourite. At the moment, I’ve got two: how Norma lost her voice and ended up in Litchfield and the story of leanne’s religious upbringing.

Although it didn’t end on such a cliffhanger as the previous series, I am eagerly awaiting another season as I’m interested to see how they progress and develop things. Will some of my favourite (and in this post nameless – because spoilers) characters come back? How will things pan out with the new inmate and the old one? What will happen next?

Leave a Reply

