Paris: Day Five (12 June 2015)

On the last morning, we woke up early and headed to the Louvre. It’s one of the world’s biggest museums and I wanted as long as possible to look around. The first thing to see is the building itself, because it really is stunning. Of course, there’s the iconic pyramid, but the whole of the outside is incredible. If anyone knows any good books about the architecture, I’d love to know more about it.

IMG_2499

Once inside, I used the audio guide app and did the masterpieces tour. The app is around £1.50 and was great for putting things in context and finding out more about the pieces. However, it does skip forward sometimes which make the directions hard to follow. You will get lost, but what a place to lose your way!

IMG_2484

It does remind you to look up at the detailed ceilings, which goes to show that the building itself should really be classed as one of the masterpieces; it’s beautiful.

Along with everyone else, we crowded around to see the Mona Lisa, and while I do think it’s beautiful, I still don’t like it all that much.

P1000519

Finally, towards the end, we stopped by at the Ancient Egyptians. It’s one of my favourite periods of history and I loved seeing all the sarcophagi. I would have loved to look round more of the museum, but by this point time was getting on and my feet were starting to hate me. Luckily though, I’d seen all the bits I’d really wanted to see, and even got sung happy birthday by some Austrians my dad made friends with.

IMG_2527

After that we picked up our bags and headed to the Eurostar. As much as I like travelling, there’s nothing quite like sleeping in your own bed.

Leave a Reply

