21 Today!

Here it is; my 21st birthday.

DSC_0003

It’s a big one, and my parents already took me to Paris to celebrate. It was amazing, and just like everything else in my life, I’ve written about it. I find it easier to take my time and write down my feelings, than to come straight out with it in person, so I hope that they know how grateful I am and how much I love them.

Today, I woke up early to see my mum before she went to work. I opened my cards and presents, gave her a big hug, and then went back to bed for a little bit (hey, it’s my birthday, don’t judge me!). Then since everyone else is working, I headed into town to pick up a few bits, and on the bus I really got to thinking; I’m 21, a grown up, I have responsibilities and yet my mum still knows that I’d love a balloon and minion stuff more than whatever mature people get.

DSC_0021

Tonight I’m off to dinner with my two best friends, and so I should really be getting ready right now, but I wanted to take a moment to sit down and think about the year ahead. There’s some big stuff happening, and just like with last year, I’ve come up with some mid-year resolutions to keep me on the right track.

Firstly, to look after myself.

Sounds easy right? Sounds like as an adult I should be able to handle that by now, but the truth is I have a bad habit of letting that slide. I want to make the most of my twenties and to do that I’ve got to be in good health, both mentally and physically. It’s time to stop making excuses for myself and actually do something about it. Sleep more, drink more water, go outside; they’re little things, but they’ll make a difference. This is the year when I start showing myself some respect.

Secondly, keep in contact with people.

Again, sounds simple enough, but over the past few years I’ve been rubbish at this. I’ve met some incredible people, but for one reason or another, too much time has passed since I’ve spoken to them and life moves on. I want to make more of an effort to maintain my friendships and to make more of them, because people are important and they need to know that.

And finally, try new things.

There’s a big wide world out there full of adventures to be had, I’ve just got to be brave enough to go and find them. I want to make the most out of the opportunities I’m given and to go for it without worrying about what might happen. I’ll still be blogging about it, of course, but I want to spend more time experiencing life than sat watching other peoples’ online. Life won’t wait.

Get ready World, I’m coming!

3 thoughts on “21 Today!

Leave a Reply

