Paris: Day Three (10 June 2015)

Thankfully, when I woke up from a nights sleep, I was feeling much better. I was still a bit sniffley, but I didn’t feel like my head was going to explode, so it was all good. After a breakfast of some pain au chocolat, we jumped on the Metro and headed back towards the Eiffel Tower for a boat cruise down the River Seine.

Sail Away
Sail Away

We arrived in time to just miss one, which meant that we were the very first people in line for the next one. Sitting right at the front on the top deck, we floated past some of Paris’ most famous landmarks and under many of its bridges. Seeing the Louvre from the river really gave me a better idea of the scale of the whole thing (hint: it’s massive), and not far from it we saw Paris’ smallest house. What a way to spend an hour, just cruising and snapping photos.

Tiny building in Paris
Tiny building in Paris

After lunch, we headed to the Centre Pompidou to visit the Musée National d’Art Moderne. We went up the cool escalators that give you a great view of the city, and then spent the afternoon wondering around among some masterpieces (although my Mum didn’t think as much).

My favourite bit was the Dada section, as I’d studied it for my A-levels, and finally got to see some of it in person. When I was in the gift shop I noticed books about Jeff Koons everywhere and after some research I found that he’s just had a retrospective exhibition there; he’s been cropping up in some weird places since I worked on the JK Collective project back in 2013.

Fountain by Marcel Duchamp
Fountain by Marcel Duchamp (Obviously not the original, but you get the point)

Evening came, and we decided to head to the Tower Montparnasse which is the only skyscraper in Paris. Tickets in hand, we crammed in the one of Europe’s fastest lifts and went up 56 floors in 36 seconds. Going up high had been a recurring theme for our trip, and these views did not disappoint. If you’re looking for a great view of the Eiffel Tower, then this is the place to go.

DSC_0240
The Tower from the Tower
Leave a Reply

