Paris: Day Two (9 June 2015)

Waking up to this view was really the best way to start the morning. The photo doesn’t really do it justice, but from the window I could see The Eiffel Tower, The Montparnasse Tower, The Arc de Triomphe and Notre Dame just to name a few iconic places.

The view from my room
The view from my room

On day two of our trip, we took a bus tour of the city that took us to all the main sites (I’m still going through all the photos I took, but when I’m done, I’ll upload them to my flickr). It made me very glad that we’d decided not to drive ourselves since we discovered that french traffic is mental! Cars were left across zebra crossings and in bus lanes, there didn’t seem to be much order when it came to round-a-bouts, and pedestrians risked their lives to get a better selfie. The thing was a little terrifying.

Why not just stand in the middle of the road for a photo?
Why not just stand in the middle of the road for a photo?

After the tour, we got some lunch and then headed to the Arc de Triomphe. Unfortunately, at this point, disaster had struck and  felt awful. I’d been feeling a little rough all day but at this point it came out in full force and my brain pretty much turned to mush. All I wanted to do was curl up in bed, but my Dad insisted on going to the top for the view, so with my head already spinning, I climbed the 284 stairs. I’m sure it would have been great if I could concentrate on anything other than the massive headache, but at that point I just wanted to sleep.

DSC_0117

When we got back to the apartment, I watched Beauty and Beast while wrapped in my quilt then hoped I’d feel human again the next day.

Leave a Reply

