Paris: Day One (8 June 2015)

I feel as though I’ve been neglecting my blog over the past few weeks, but I have been rather busy. It’s my 21st birthday soon, and as a treat my parents took me to Paris for a few days. I’ve always wanted to go and we tried to get a lot done in the short time we were there. The next five posts will be full of details and photos from my trip since I couldn’t upload them while I was there.

So let’s start at the beginning; Monday morning started with getting up very early, catching the train to London and then getting the Eurostar. The journey is around 2 and half hours, but with a window seat and my headphones on, the time flew by.

French Chocolates
French Chocolates

It was to be a day of lots of travelling, since once we were in Paris, we took the Metro to where we were staying. The apartment was on the 27th floor, which meant we had an incredible view, and the owner had heard that it was my birthday and brought me some chocolates. She was lovely, and they were delicious!

Since it was such a nice clear day, we decided that we would head back into the center and visit the Eiffel Tower in case the weather changed later in the week. It was early evening by the time we got there and had queued up, but there were still quite a few people taking advantage of the sunshine.

The Shadow of the Eiffel Tower
The Shadow of the Eiffel Tower

As everyone packed into the lift, I tucked myself into a corner to be out the way; it was only when it started to go up that I realised this might not have been a great ideas since I had no other choice but to look out of the window.

I’m not particularly great with heights, but the views were totally worth it. You could see everything, and although it was very windy, and looking over the edge made my stomach do flips, I’m glad to say that despite my fears, I did it. I’ve even got a photo to prove it.

DSC_0023
High Above The City
One thought on “Paris: Day One (8 June 2015)

Leave a Reply

