20 and 11 Months

This time last year, I was a month away from turning 20 and I wrote a post celebrating my teenage years (you can read that here). It’s up there with some of my favourite posts, so I’ve decided to make somewhat of a tradition out of it.

Here I am a month away from turning 21, and the past 11 months have been quite the roller-coaster. Now obviously I don’t have as much to celebrate as last time since it’s only been a year, but there are a few highlights I’d like to remember.

This year, I had my first ever job interview AND I got the job!

I remember standing outside the shop, smartly dressed with my heart racing. It’s only natural to be nervous, I told myself, however it turns out it’ll be a good experience to have. Looking back, I still can’t quite believe how well it went. You know you’ve made a good impression when you get a high five from one of the interviewers. After waiting to hear, I was over the moon when I finally got the call (well actually the voicemail), and I had my first day at work a few weeks later.

I’ve been there since September and I’ve settled in really well. All of my colleagues are lovely and were very patient with me as I was learning the ropes.  I’ve become more confident speaking to people both in person and on the phone (something I’ve always struggled with). I really couldn’t have hoped for a better first job experience!

I went on more adventures; mostly thanks to the wonderful Carys.

I have so many new memories, but since a photo is worth a thousand words, I thought I’d show you some:

And I started loving myself for who I am.

That one might sound a little odd, this blog post might help to explain it – A letter to myself . For too long I relied on others to feel good about myself, I needed to be liked, to be paid attention to, now I’m realising that I’m good enough on my own. I still have bad days – who doesn’t – but I’m a lot happier in my own skin now than I have been for a long time.

What a year it’s been, and it’s not over yet! I’ve still got a trip to Paris and some more adventures to have before the big birthday comes.

I can’t wait!

😉

Leave a Reply

