100 Movies Highlights

How many movies have you watched this year? Any idea? Maybe you go to the cinema a lot to see new releases, or perhaps you like to watch the same few films over and over again.

Back in January, I set myself a challenge to watch 300 movies by December 31st, and I’m proud to tell you that right now (I’m writing this on 11th May because scheduling), I’ve watched over 100 – 104 to be exact. Now because I’m a nerd, I’ve kept a list of everything I’ve seen, so if you’d like to check out all the titles, please click here: The Very Long List

If that’s too long for you, I’ve picked a few highlights:

Most Emotional: The Book Thief 

I’ve actually written a review for this one, which you can read by clicking here. Oh boy, this film was visually stunning and brought tears to my eyes more than once. It was beautiful. It’s a haunting reminder of the past, and makes me appreciate my life just a little more. Sophie Nélisse is incredible; definitely a name to watch out for in the future!

Best Rediscovery: Beverly Hills Cop

I vaguely remember watching this as a kid, by which I mean I remember watching something with Eddie Murphy as a cop and a song that sounded a lot like crazy frog (how annoying was that?!). So, when I was in HMV and saw the box set for £6.99, I couldn’t resist, and I was not disappointed. Now I’m actually old enough to understand and enjoy the humour, it really is a great film. Highly recommended.

Best Documentary Film: Life Itself

Because I set myself the challenge, I came up with the rules and decided that provided that a documentary is longer than an hour, it counted towards my 300 goal. With that in mind, I decided to see what Netflix had to offer. Life Itself is about the life and career of world-famous film critic Roger Ebert. It’s made up of interviews with some big names, video clips and even some very personal footage of Ebert and his wife readjusting to life with his disabilities. He was an incredible man and the documentary is brilliantly made and fascinating to watch.

Here’s to the next 100!

Leave a Reply

