Resolution Review

Untitled-2

It seems as though I accidentally stepped into a time machine and ended up in may. Whaaaaat?! How did this happen?! We’re almost half way through the year, so I thought it would be a good time to reflect on my new year’s resolutions (Ha! remember those?)

I decided I was going to work on three things; being healthier, focusing on my creative outlets and learning to cook.

Five months later, I’ve done okay at 2/3 of these.

I’m writing more and its work that I’m proud of. I feel like I’ve found my voice now and I’m going to use it as much as I can while I still I have something to say. And while I haven’t made any new videos yet, I’ve got ideas for things that I want to try, I just need to put the effort into actually making them happen. Focus on my creative outlets: check.

My health has improved slightly too. Okay, so I’m still picking chips over salad, but I am sleeping more and mentally I feel like I’m in a much better place than I was before. I’m even remembering to drink more water most of the time. There’s still work to be done, but some progress is better than none. Being healthier: check.

Yuuummmm
Yuuummmm

Then there’s my other resolution: cooking.

I’m not even going to make excuses for myself as to why I haven’t tried; it’s out of laziness. I brought the cook books and had a flick through, but as for actually preparing and cooking a meal? Well I’ve mostly been preheating the oven and taking things out of the packet (that photo up there is of a stir fry from last year- while I did make it myself, I already knew how to do that one so it doesn’t count). I never hoped to be good enough for master chef or anything, but I wanted to have a few go-to recipes under my belt for when I move out and have to face the big wide world on my own.

Now that I’ve been honest with you (and myself), it’s time to start focusing on the rest of the year.

Did you stick to any of your new years resolutions?

Leave a Reply

