March’s Movie Update

Movie-Releases

If you didn’t know, back in January I set myself the challenge of watching 300 movies in a year. For some people this seems like a lot, for a few people not so much. For most people, the idea of keeping track of such a thing seems ridiculous, but hey everyone’s got a hobby, right?

At first I wasn’t sure how I was going to keep a note of it all, and then I discovered that you can make lists on IMDB. This is great for me because it keeps count for me and I don’t have to try to remember if I’ve already seen something or not. If you’re interested in finding out what I’ve already seen, you can check out my list at http://www.imdb.com/list/ls073244856/

Right now (10/3/2015 because I schedule posts), I’m a little behind with my watching. I’m currently at 52. Sounds like a lot, right? I worked out that to watch 300 in a year, it’s 25 a month, so I have 23 left to watch in March. I’m going to have to have a few movie nights in to keep on schedule 😉

You’re probably sitting there right now asking yourself “why is she doing this?”.

Well, the simple answer is to see if I can. A more long-winded response is that I’m off to do media studies in a few months and I didn’t feel like I’d seen enough films. There’s some big name classic movies that I haven’t seen (mostly because I was either too young or not even born when they were released) and I want to rectify that. Plus, I like knowing just what I’ve seen this year – it’s nerdy, I know.

You might see from the list that they’re not all cinema greats, and that’s because I enjoy watching other kind of films too. I know people who won’t watch something that’s given less than a 4 star review, but personally I don’t care. Even “bad” movies can be entertainment.

If you want to find out what I think of the films, you’re in luck! I’ve been writing reviews of some of them for Movie Monday. I’m not going to become a film blog, but it’s nice to have somewhere to keep all my thoughts about them. It’ll improve my reviewing skills and hopefully you might be inspired to watch something different.

I’m going to try to post a movie update every couple of months to keep you in the loop, until then please give me recommendations! What’s your favourite film?

Leave a Reply

