Catching Some Zs

Last month I said that I was going to work on my sleeping pattern and I succeeded … sort of. To be honest with you, the first two weeks were a disaster. I stayed up til silly O’clock, I didn’t get up in the morning … let’s call that a sleepy research period. It did help to highlight what I needed to change, and then I spent the next few weeks trying out solutions.

1

Here’s a breakdown of everything:

Problem 1: My brain won’t shut up. My body will be exhausted by my mind will worry, wonder and bring up every embarrassing thing I’ve ever done. This doesn’t exactly help me to drift off to dream land.

The Solution: Journaling! This should have been so obvious, right? I love to write and it helps to get it all out of your system. At first I was hesitant because I kept thinking of it like keeping a diary. Instead of writing about things that happened that day, I’ve found it helpful to just free-write everything I’m thinking about as kind of a brain-dump.  It doesn’t have to make sense because no one else will see it.

Problem 2: I could be on the internet right now. Oh technology, how you’ve complicated everything! I’m kidding, but it has become harder to switch off. There’s always one more video I want to watch, one more gif to reblog, one more episode to watch and then suddenly it’s morning. Oops!

The Solution: Not that I’ve managed to completely be successful at this one, but be restrictive with your screen time. Experts have recommended that you stop interacting with tech 1 – 2 hours before bedtime, and instead try something like reading a book to help your mind wind-down. Like I said, I’m still working on this one, but I have found that turning down the brightness at night helps to make me feel tired. Hopefully getting into a bedtime routine will help with this one.

Problem 3: There’s no consistency. This is a biggie for me and something I’ll be focusing on for the next month. I have no regular bed time or waking time, and I’m really struggling to get into a pattern.

The Solution: I need to keep working on my time management, and I don’t just mean bedtimes. Some days I won’t actually get anything productive done because I’ll waste all day watching tv. Enough is enough, I need to get proactive. To-do list watch out, I’m coming for you!

Time to knuckle down and do something.

Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

