Movie Monday: Romeo and Juliet Review

William Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet is arguably the most famous love story of all time, and my favourite movie adaptation is the 1996 version with Leonardo DiCaprio and Claire Danes. It cleverly modernises the story, while using the original dialogue.

It was great at helping me get my head around the text when I studying it in year 9, and when I re-watched it this year, I fell back in love. The movie also has an iconic soundtrack featuring songs from Des’ree and The Cardigans.

To be honest with you, I’ll always have a small soft spot for 90s DiCaprio, but my favourite character by far was Harold Perrineau’s Mercutio. He made me laugh, he made me cry and he looks amazing in a mini skirt. What more can you want?

If you haven’t seen this movie, you need to watch it ASAP, it’s amazing.

As Romeo said, “Did my heart love ’til now? Forswear its sight. For I never saw true beauty ’til this night.”

Leave a Reply

