An Open Letter to 2015

Dear 2015,

I’m a little late welcoming you in, but the past few weeks have been a bit tough. Not awfully challenging, more like trying to drag loads of baggage a really big hill in the rain. I’m working on it though and some of the weight is starting to lift.

I hope that this is just a stumble at the start though and not a glimpse of what’s to come. Some of last year was great, but there’s other bits of it that I never want to see again.

No, I’m sure that you’re going to marvelous. I’ve got some great things planned, so you’re going to have to work with me on those. You’re going to be a year to remember, one full of amazing memories, something I go on about for years to come.

Even though you’re here right here, right now, there’s something about you that sounds so futuristic and far away. Maybe it’s because I’m growing up and becoming more aware of the ticking clock, the swiftly changing calendar pages. Maybe it’s because I’ve seen Back To The Future one too many times and I’m still waiting on my hoover board.

Whatever it is, while it might take me some time to get used to your new digits, I’m glad you’re here. You bring adventures to be had, memories to make, and lessons to be learnt. You’ve got so much potential, and we’ll just have to wait and see what happens. I hope that I’m still optimistic when I write to you next.

Sending you all my love, so please don’t waste it.

Charlie

Leave a Reply

