A Brand New Challenge

A few years ago, I set myself a challenge to take a photo every day for a year from my 18th birthday until my 19th. Some days were better than others, but overall I’m really glad that I did it because not only have I got a record of all the things I did, I proved to myself that I can stick out a yearlong project.

Six months after the project ended, at the start of 2014, I tried to start again but it didn’t go so well. It was rather bad timing for personal reasons and I just felt like I’d done it all before so there wasn’t anything exciting about it anymore.

As 2014 drew to a close, I had a bit of a dilemma; I really liked having a project to work on, but I didn’t know what to do. I’d tried looking up other people’s projects, but nothing felt right. It’s been a while since I properly used my camera which ruled out photography, and well we all know how disastrous it can be when I say I’m going to blog every day.

Then I had an idea…

On average, how many movies do you reckon you watch in a year? For me, it’s not that many. I mean I do spend a lot of time watching films; they just tend to be the same 20 ones that I work my way through.

So, I set myself a challenge; to watch 300 movies by the end of 2015.

Of course, there has to be a few rules as to what counts and what doesn’t:

  • They don’t have to be ones that I’ve never seen before, but each film only counts once towards the 300.
  • I’m including documentaries under films, providing they last over 40 minutes (which according to the notes from my media studies GCSE is the difference between a short film and a full length movie).
  • And finally, I have to watch from it from start to finish, so turning on a film channel half way through wouldn’t be counted.

Pretty straight forward, and so far so good. I’ve been keeping a note of everything that I’ve watched, but I haven’t found a proper way of charting my progress so if you have any ideas, do let me know!

And with that, it’s time to grab some popcorn and get down to business.

Leave a Reply

