Goodbye 2014!

Whoa, it’s the last day of 2014! This (slightly rambley) post is a reflection of some of the highlights of the year. It’s important to make note of the good things and appreciate all the experiences.

1st

So much has happened in the past 12 months that it feels like I need another month just to catch my breath! Back in January, it’s fair to say that I was in a terrible place mentally, but look what a difference a year can make.There were some bad days that I didn’t think I’d see the end of, but I did. Somehow, I kept going and it was all worth it.

Anyway, here we go with the best bits!

I graduated from college (again). My education story is a little complicated, but all you really need to know is that although I’m smart, my dyslexia has always discouraged me from higher education. I took my A-levels back in 2012, and then in July this year I finished a year long course in Media Communications which has given me the confidence to go to university. Along the way, I met some incredible people and made some wonderful memories. Going to an adult education college meant that there were people of all ages and backgrounds, which helped to open my eyes and my mind. It was tough at points, but I’m so glad that I did it.

On the outside, it's just an old building, on the inside, it's filled with knowledge and memories.
On the outside, it’s just an old building, on the inside, it’s filled with knowledge and memories.

I had adventures. Okay, maybe I didn’t go travelling around the world, but I did do new things. I went to a pet show and saw Jack Whitehall Live. I spent quality time with the people who bring the sunshine to my life, and I even got to be a child again when I went to Legoland for my birthday. As much as I love my blog and the internet, life is what happens away from the screen, and I can’t wait to see what life throws my way next year.

Contrary to popular belief, we are in fact giants
Contrary to popular belief, we are in fact giants

I got a job. After college finished, I was a bit stuck for what to do next. Yes, I am going to uni, but not until next September, so there was the little matter of what to do for a year. In June, I set myself mid-year resolutions, and by September I had my first ever job interview. It was terrifying, but it went well and I’m now employed part-time at a toy shop. It doesn’t sound like much, but for me it’s a big deal. It’s evidence of how far I’ve come; a few years ago, I couldn’t talk in a class of people I knew, now I’m making small talk with strangers. My colleagues were very welcoming and they’re definitely a highlight of the job. Sometimes, its still a bit overwhelming, but I’m not going to let me anxiety stop me from living my life.

New Boss!
New Boss!

Thanks for reading this far, and for being a part of this blogging journey I’m on. Now as Brad Paisley said:

“Tomorrow, is the first blank page of a 365 page book. Write a good one.”

Leave a Reply

