A guide to Christmas Shopping

It feels like forever since I’ve blogged because I’ve been working so much. I work in a toy shop and not surprisingly we’re rather busy at this time of year. Now, I’ve only been there a few months, but it’s long enough to pick up a few tips for a happier Christmas shopping experience.

So, here’s my guide for gift-getting this holiday season!

DSC_0251

Firstly, before you leave to go shopping, make sure you’ve picked up your wallet. Now, this sounds obvious, right? For some people, not so much. Just double check that you have everything before you walk out the door. That goes for when you’re leaving the shop too. You don’t want to leave behind anything you’ve already paid for.

Bear in mind that weekends and lunchtimes will be busy. If you can avoid hitting the shops then, great; you’ll have more time and space for browsing. If not, then try and go in with a plan of what you want to buy. You don’t have to know exactly what it is, but the more specific you can be about what you want, the easy it will be to find.

When you walk into a shop, you expect it to be tidy, don’t you? So, do your best to help keep it neat by putting things back where you found them or at least as close as you can get. If you really don’t remember, then admit it and tell the staff you’ve changed your mind. Don’t try and hide it behind other products; it’s a waste of both of our time.

DSC_0313

There are only so many presents, and the person you’re buying for might already have one, so make sure you keep your receipts for refunds and exchanges. Every company is different, and you can check when you’re purchasing, but a general guide is that the product is unopened and it’s within 28 days of the sale.

And finally, please be polite. It is my job to help you, but there’s only so much I can do. I can’t make things magically appear. I won’t always know exactly what you’re looking for. I might make mistakes, but I’ll do my best to rectify them. At the end of the day, I am only a person, just like you. Manners matter.

Here’s hoping you have happy holidays!

Leave a Reply

