Time and tide wait for no man

If clocks had eyes, they’d be staring at me very judgmentally for wasting time. If my calendar had a mouth it would be screaming “what are you even doing?!”

No, I haven’t completely lost my mind; I’ve just been doing a lot of reflecting on the past few years of my life.

I’ve done some pretty amazing things, but it’s also fair to say there are periods of time where I did nothing. Days wasted away, weeks when nothing was accomplished. I fell into a void and it was really difficult to get out of.

Benjamin Franklin once said “Lost time is never found again,”, and that is very true. I won’t get those days back so I shouldn’t waste more worrying about them. What I can do, however, is make sure I don’t fall back into the void. I can make small changes for the better and hope for the best. I can actually live my life, not just drift through days.

Why am I telling you all of this?

Because what better way to start my new series than with an explanation of why it’s happening.

Sort your damn life out is going to be a collection of posts where I document my attempts at (well, if you hadn’t guessed…) getting my life organised. Now, I’m not promising miracles here, I’m not going to have such a lifestyle makeover that I get up at 5am for a morning jog, but actually getting up in the morning might be a good start. I’m hoping that by telling the internet all about it, I’ll stay motivated and hopefully make a positive difference to my life.

It’s worth a shot, right?

5 thoughts on “Time and tide wait for no man

      1. Though it may seem contradictory, lately I’ve subscribed to a “Don’t just do something – sit there” approach. Meaning, I’ve been spending time meditating. Found that this has helped me focus and sharpen my resolve. Good for goal-setting, too.

Leave a Reply

