Finding the Right Words

writing_pens_15022335_by_stockproject1-d4ctwi2

Quite often when I tell people I have a blog, the conversation goes something like this:

Me: “…I have a blog,”

Them: “oh cool, what do you blog about?”

Me: “ummm…well it started off as like an arty blog, and then it sort of became a bit more about me, but I try and do reviews of films and stuff…”

Them: “…great…”

You’d think by now I have a better go-to answer, a reply that I’d prepared earlier, but here’s the thing, I don’t know what to tell people because I’m still figuring it out.

There are a lot of things that I enjoy writing about such as films, stuff on TV and my often weird-but-wonderful experiences. There’s stuff that you probably won’t find covered like football or golf – mainly because I don’t like these things and don’t know much about them.

Then there are topics that I want to write about, but I’m not sure about putting on my blog – controversial subjects or things that I’m just starting to be interested in. What will my readers think of me if I suddenly start writing about fashion? Is that really “my kind of thing”? What if someone who knows more about these things sees it and tells me I’m completely wrong?

There’s also things I’m passionate about but I’m not quite comfortable sharing with the internet right now. This doesn’t mean I never will be, but again, when the time comes, what are people going to think? I’m not worried about what strangers think (it feels so weird to be calling you strangers when you share parts of my life with me), but what about my family? There’s a whole other part of my life that I haven’t shared with them yet and I don’t want them to find out by reading it on here.

The truth is I’m still figuring it out: what to write about, how much to share and – to be honest – the rest of my life in general. When I first started out, most of the tips I received were about “finding my niche”. The problem is I don’t want to limit myself to just one category. My blog doesn’t fit nicely into a box, but so what? Maybe having more variety will bring a more diverse audience.

And while I’m still struggling to describe my blog to people, I’ll get there eventually. It’s a mix-match of ideas, experiences and opinions with some photos thrown in too.

Leave a Reply

