Hey Birthday Boy, This Ones About You

DSC_0472

Friendships are formed in the most peculiar ways. You might meet someone in a coffee shop or start chatting while you’re waiting for a delayed train. A mutual acquaintance might introduce you or you keep bumping into each other when you’re getting take away.  They might even be the person you turn to while you’re having a panic attack in a crowd of people and they attempt to comfort you instead of freaking out.

Ah yes, that last one was not my finest moment, but somehow years later Sean is still in my life.

We’ve come a long way from having lunch together at school and now we’re practically neighbours. There have been ups and downs, but I know that I can turn to him when I need someone to talk to. I can be my-sometimes-slow-mostly-mental-self around him and he doesn’t run for the hills. He even tried explaining video games to me and was only a little bit upset when I somehow won.

This post here is a happy birthday, congratulations and a thank you all rolled up into one.  

Happy 18th birthday, welcome to adulthood. It isn’t that much different from being 17, but now you can buy your own alcohol and violent movies. There’s so much ahead of you, so many new things to experience and I can’t wait to hear about it all.

Congratulations on getting you’re a-level results. This is it, that chapter of your life is over now. The exams are over, but you’ll still be learning new things all the time. You should be really proud of yourself for coming this far and doing so well.

And finally, thank you. Thank you for all the hugs, for being patient with me and for the times you’ve made me laugh. Thank you for everything you do because although I might not say it all the time, I am so grateful to have you as a friend.

I can’t wait to see what the future holds for you and what adventures we go on. As Winnie the Pooh once said: “If you live to be a hundred, I want to live to be a hundred minus one day so I never have to live without you.” 

One thought on “Hey Birthday Boy, This Ones About You

Leave a Reply

