So Many Musical Memories

Image from http://demonchick25.deviantart.com/

You must know how this works by now; stick on some music and write about the memories. Pretty straight-forward. Let’s get started.  

Words – Train: This is just one of the amazing songs from Train’s album Save me, San Francisco that I’d play on my commute to and from college. I learnt all the lyrics within a few days of buying the CD (yes, I actually still buy CDs). My favourite part is from the chorus: “When words keep you from feeling good, use them as firewood and let them burn.”  

Paper Walls – Yellowcard: I distinctly remember listening to this on loop when I was 14. It was when I first started playing around with photos on Photoshop creating collages for my school folders.  Back then it was just a bit of fun, I didn’t realise what a big part of my life it would become. I taught myself most of what I know by playing around on it and trying different things out, it really is the best way to learn.

Get This Party Started – P!nk: I was in junior school when this came out – was it really that long ago?! Everyone in my class knew all the words and we used to think we were so cool singing along. Because, y’know, there’s nothing cooler than a bunch of 7 year olds singing along to some pop song they’re too young to understand.  Fast-forward 13 years, I still know all the words and Pink is still awesome.

American Idiot – Greenday: This is the first album I brought with my own money; I then went on to buy their entire back catalogue. This is probably my favourite one though. To be honest, it’s probably one of the only good things to come out of my awkward emo phase. My only problem is deciding between playing air guitar or air drums.

Can’t Get You Out of my Head – Kylie Minogue: Wow, this is quite the varied list. I remember being fascinated the first time I saw the music video for this song. I don’t really know why, there was something about the red men dancing and of course the beauty that is Kylie. I really couldn’t get the song out of my head for days afterwards though …La la la la la la la la….

Walking on Sunshine – Katrina and the Waves: I always associate this song with the opening of Daddy Day Care. I absolutely love that film! If you haven’t seen it, it follows two Dads (Eddie Murphy and Jeff Garlin) who have just laid off at work and can’t find new jobs; so they decide to open their own day care centre. Throw in Anjelica Huston as their nemesis and you’ve got a hilarious family comedy.

Check out the other memories here: 1 / 2 / 3 

 

One thought on “So Many Musical Memories

Leave a Reply

